The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is a national organization whose mission is to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

The New Canaan branch of AAUW has a vibrant membership including some 90 members, the second largest branch in Connecticut. Some are lifetime members who have been active for many years. Others are younger women and women who work locally. Our membership includes homemakers, retired professionals, published authors, professional musicians, and community fundraisers. They are all quite friendly, intellectually and culturally active, and have a strong interest in women’s issues and advocacy.

Our branch draws its membership from New Canaan and surrounding towns, including Stamford, Norwalk, Wilton and Darien. We were formed in 1970 by 34 charter members, five of whom are still members of the branch. The founders had belonged to AAUW in other parts of the country and saw the interest and the need for a branch in New Canaan.

For more information, take a look at our About Us page.

Book & Author Luncheon
** Mark your calendars **
Thursday, April 19, 2018

Our 39th annual Book and Author Luncheon will be held on Thursday, April 19 at Woodway Country Club beginning at 11:15 AM. All proceeds from the luncheon, including the sale of books and centerpieces, will be used to further the Educational Opportunities Fund of AAUW.  As one of the world’s largest sources of funding for graduate studies, AAUW is providing more than $3.7 million in funding for more than 244 fellowships and grants to outstanding women and nonprofit organization in the 201-2018 academic year.

Invitations will be mailed to our members in March, so please look out for yours and mark your calendar now for April 19. Reservations will be taken through April 7, so tell your friends and fellow Book Group members and make plans to attend. Let’s all help foster AAUW’s mission to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

We are excited to announce this year’s Authors soon.